Hangout on Google for Inside Tips on Submitting to the #Sundance TED Prize Filmmaker Award
Join Documentary Film Program Director Cara Mertes on Google+

Hangout on Google for Inside Tips on Submitting to the #Sundance TED Prize Filmmaker Award

Share on Tumblr

The Sundance Institute Documentary Film Program and Fund recently announced an exciting new partnership with TED, the non-profit organization devoted to ideas worth spreading. Together the organizations have launched the TED Prize Filmmaker Award, a $125,000 award for the production of a short documentary film project about the work of Sugata Mitra, this year’s TED Prize winner. The Sundance Institute’s Documentary Film Program and Fund is currently accepting proposals through April 15, 2013, and the Award winner will be announced in June 2013 at TED Global in Edinburgh, Scotland. Click here for the TED Prize application details.

To provide the documentary filmmaking community insight and in-depth information about this new award, we've announced a special Google Hangout on Wednesday April 3, 11:00 A.M. PDT (12:00 P.M. MDT / 1:00 P.M. CDT / 2:00 P.M. EDT). Potential applicants will have an exclusive chance to ask questions about the Award and the submission process directly with Sundance Institute. Because this is a new award and the period between the announcement and the proposal deadline is very short, we hope to engage serious and qualified applicants to convey additional information that will inform stronger proposals and inspire them to apply by the deadline. The target participants are documentary filmmakers with demonstrated exceptional talent from whom we’d like to receive proposals, or who are planning to or considering submitting a proposal. Cara Mertes, Director of the Sundance Institute Documentary Film Program and Fund, will lead and host the Google Hangout.

Click here to join our Google Hangout.

Cara Mertes designs, oversees and aids in the implementation of the activities of the DFP, including the Funds, Extended Artists Support/Labs, Public Programming and a portfolio of Creative Partnerships. She also serves as part of Sundance Institute's senior management team, leads the DFP's involvement in pan-Institute and cross-programmatic activities, and travels extensively to develop resources for the independent documentary field internationally. A graduate of Vassar College, she completed work for her Masters at Hunter College, and is currently a Ford Foundation Fellow attending Harvard Business School's Executive Program.